Joe Witten Photo

Joe Witten

Head Coach 5th season


Joe Witten is in his third season as IU Southeast's head softball coach.  He has led the Grenadiers to back-to-back KIAC regular season and tournament championships in his first two seasons. He was named the KIAC Coach of the Year in 2013 and 2014. His career record at IU Southeast is 78-21.

Witten spent 10 seasons as the head softball coach at Floyd Central High School leading the Highlanders to unprecedented success.

Floyd Central won five Hoosier Hills Conference championships, a regional title and made one appearance in the Indiana state final during Witten’s tenure.  He also was named District 5 Coach of the Year four times.

Four of Witten’s players went on to play NCAA Division I sports at Ohio State, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Furman and University of Tennessee-Martin.    Nineteen players went to play collegiate softball overall, and six players were named to academic all-state teams.

He finished his high school coaching career with a 222-82-4 record for a .721 winning percentage.

Witten played baseball at Eastern Kentucky University from 1995-1998.  He was named to the Freshman All-America team in 1995. He remains the school record holder for single-season and career saves.  He is the Ohio Valley Conference career saves leader with 32 saves.  After graduating, Witten played in the Cape Cod League, the top-college summer league, with the Harwich Mariners in 1996 and 1997.  He signed his first professional contract with the Frontier Leaguer’s Springfield Capitals in 1998.

Joe lives in New Albany and has two sons, Brady and Briar.

2017 Softball Roster
# Name Cl. Pos. Ht. Hometown Previous School
0 Sadie Soliday FR OF 5-6 Salem, Ind. Salem H.S.
1 Maddie Probus FR INF 5-8 Floyds Knobs, Ind. Floyd Central H.S.
2 Emily Hollis FR INF 5-7 Henryville, Ind. Henryville H.S.
4 Morgan Keefer SO OF/P 5-2 Mooresville, Ind. Lutheran H.S.
5 Sidney Chumbler SO OF 5-5 New Albany, Ind. New Albany H.S.
6 Kyndyl Olds FR OF 5-5 Commiskey, Ind. Jennings County H.S.
7 Justice Kline SO INF/C 5-4 Bedford, Ind. Bedford North Lawrence H.S.
8 Kaylin Klosterman FR C 5-5 Dupont, Ind. Jennings County H.S.
10 Becca Schoenung SO INF/P 5-8 Springville, Ind. Bedford North Lawrence H.S.
11 Emily Gray SO P 5-10 Jeffersonville, Ind. Lindsey Wilson
17 Bailey Sharp FR P 5-6 Clarksville, Ind. Clarksville H.S.
18 Emily Weiss SO P 5-6 Evansville, Ind. F.J. Reitz H.S.
19 Sydney Seger SO INF 5-6 Evansville, Ind. Mater Dei H.S.
22 Clara Shean FR OF 5-5 Georgetown, Ind. Floyd Central H.S.

Coaching Staff

Joe Witten Photo
Head Coach
5th season
Kendra DeArk Photo
Assistant Coach
2nd season
Bill Pierce Photo
Assistant Coach
1st season
Sponsor - Voluforms
Sponsor - Republic Bank
Sponsor - Zaxbys