• May. 16 - Softball vs 20Southern Oregon University - L 2-11 - recap - stats
  • May. 15 - Softball vs 7William Carey University - L 1-5 - recap - stats
  • May. 6 - Softball vs University of Rio Grande - L 3-5 - recap - stats
  • May. 6 - Softball vs 18University of Rio Grande - W 5-1 - stats
  • May. 6 - Softball vs Midway University - W 4-0 - stats
  • May. 6 - Softball vs 18University of Rio Grande - L 0-7 - stats
  • May. 5 - Softball vs Midway University - W 7-0 - stats
  • May. 5 - Softball vs Cincinnati Christian - W 6-5 - stats
  • Apr. 29 - Softball vs Carlow University - W 12-5 - recap - stats
  • Apr. 29 - Softball vs Carlow University - W 6-4 - recap - stats
Indiana University Southeast Athletics
2014 Softball
Joe Witten
Joe Witten Image
Head Coach - 2nd Season

Joe Witten is in his first season as IU Southeast's head softball coach.  Witten spent 10 seasons as the head softball coach at Floyd Central High School leading the Highlanders to unprecedented success.

Floyd Central won five Hoosier Hills Conference championships, a regional title and made one appearance in the Indiana state final during Witten’s tenure.  He also was named District 5 Coach of the Year four times.

Four of Witten’s players went on to play NCAA Division I sports at Ohio State, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Furman and University of Tennessee-Martin.    Nineteen players went to play collegiate softball overall, and six players were named to academic all-state teams.

He finished his high school coaching career with a 222-82-4 record for a .721 winning percentage.

Witten played baseball at Eastern Kentucky University from 1995-1999.  He was named to the Freshman All-America team in 1995. He remains the school record holder for single-season and career saves.  He is the Ohio Valley Conference career saves leader with 32 saves.  After graduating, Witten played in the Cape Cod League, the top-college summer league, with the Harwich Mariners in 1996 and 1997.  He played for the Frontier Leaguer’s Springfield Capitals in 1998.

Joe lives in New Albany and has two sons, Brady and Briar.

Roster for 2014 Softball Team
#NameCl.Pos.B/THt.HometownPrevious School
Ashley Benson*SR3BR/R5-4Noblesville, Ind.Noblesville, H.S.
0Chelsey FrithFROFL/R5-10Louisville, Ky.Holy Cross H.S.
1Cadie PovaleriFRC/OFR/R5-11Deputy, Ind.Madison Cons. H.S.
2Darian DavenportSO3BL/R5-5Louisville, Ky.North Bullitt H.S.
3Lauren KlostermanFRUTILR/R5-4Dupont, Ind.Jennings County H.S.
4Summer SandersJROFR/R5-4North Vernon, Ind.Jennings County H.S.
5Jessica LeanhartFRPR/R5-8LaGrange, Ky.Oldham County H.S.
6Brooke BarnettFROFL/R5-2Sellersburg, Ind.Silver Creek H.S.
7Alayna LaPailleSOOFR/R5-9Louisville, Ky.Holy Cross H.S.
8Shelby LucasFRC/OFL/R5-0Columbus, Ind.Columbus North H.S.
9Morgan KlostermanFRSS/OFL/R5-4Dupont, Ind.Jennings County H.S.
11Jenna SwainSRPR/R5-6Zionsville, Ind.Zionsville H.S.
12Whitney EstesSOUTILR/R5-2Greenfield, Ind.Mt. Vernon H.S.
13Jade DetzerSROFR/R5-4Santa Claus, Ind.Heritage Hills H.S.
14Jordan BatlinerJRP/UTR/R5-7Floyds Knobs, Ind.Floyd Central H.S.
16Sarah RicheySOUTILR/R5-6Henryville, Ind.Hanover College
18Madison RayFRPR/R5-8Louisville, Ky.Holy Cross H.S.
19Darcy SappSO1BL/R5-5Indianapolis, Ind.Purdue University
20Brookelyn ViskerSOSSR/R5-4Indianapolis, Ind.Warren Central H.S.
21Leah PodgornySOUTILR/L5-9Highland, Ind.Calumet College of St. Joseph
22Elizabeth RodenSOCR/R5-6Delaware, OhioDelaware Christian H.S.
23Katelyn HeinesFR2BL/R5-3Louisville, Ky.Holy Cross H.S.
25Haley-Ann KuenemanFROFR/R5-6Calgary, Alberta, CanadaBishop O'Byrne H.S.
* Redshirt
Joe Witten - Head Coach - 2nd season
Mark Mayfield - Assistant Coach - 2nd season
Kara Rodden - Assistant Coach - 2nd season