NEW ALBANY, Ind. - Logan Barnes, Josh Beams, Kyle Hawkins and Alex Schoettmer were recognized on the 2017 River States Conference Baseball Scholar-Athlete Team.

The 2017 River States Conference Baseball Scholar-Athlete Team had 35 student-athletes receive the academic honor this year. This is the second year of the RSC Scholar-Athlete Team program, which recognizes excellence in the classroom while competing as an RSC student-athlete.

To earn a spot on the team, student-athletes must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or higher, compete in an RSC championship sport and be nominated by their athletic department. University of Rio Grande led the baseball conference with with 11 student-athletes honored.

The NAIA has a similar awards program, the NAIA-Daktronics Scholar-Athlete award, which is for juniors and seniors who have a grade-point average of 3.50 or higher. 


First NameLast NameSchoolSport
Jared BonatoAsburyBaseball
Zach BobbittCincinnati ChristianBaseball
Payton JenkinsCincinnati ChristianBaseball
MarkWaltersCincinnati ChristianBaseball
JackWashburnCincinnati ChristianBaseball
Josh BeamsIU SoutheastBaseball
Tim SchoettmerIU SoutheastBaseball
KyleHawkinsIU SoutheastBaseball
Logan BarnesIU SoutheastBaseball
EricRinehartOhio ChristianBaseball
EthanSkowronskiOhio ChristianBaseball
IsaiahHaleyOhio ChristianBaseball
TannerHoltOhio ChristianBaseball
CalebPenneyOhio ChristianBaseball
Juston DonnallyRio GrandeBaseball
TrentDownsRio GrandeBaseball
Zach HarveyRio GrandeBaseball
JosephLanders IIIRio GrandeBaseball
JuwanPadroRio GrandeBaseball
CollinPowersRio GrandeBaseball
DylanShockleyRio GrandeBaseball
DominicTiberiRio GrandeBaseball
Logan WaltersRio GrandeBaseball
DaltonWilburnRio GrandeBaseball
RobertWolfingerRio GrandeBaseball
Chris DavidsonWVU TechBaseball
ChrisHysellWVU TechBaseball
AnthonyGarofaloPoint ParkBaseball
ColeJohnsonPoint ParkBaseball
Logan LinderPoint ParkBaseball
MatthewMullenPoint ParkBaseball