NEW ALBANY, Ind. - Senior Bryson Mills earned recognition on the 2016-17 River States Conference Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete Team, the conference announced today.


The 2016-17 River States Conference Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete Team had 13 student-athletes earn the academic honor this year. This is the second year of the RSC Scholar-Athlete Team program, which recognizes excellence in the classroom while competing as an RSC student-athlete.

To earn a spot on the team, student-athletes must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.25 or higher, compete in an RSC championship sport and be nominated by their athletic department. Asbury University led the men's tennis conference with five honorees named, and IU East was second with four. 

The NAIA has a similar awards program, the NAIA-Daktronics Scholar-Athlete award, which is for juniors and seniors who have a grade-point average of 3.50 or higher. 


First NameLast NameSchoolSport
DakotaBoggsAlice LloydMen's Tennis
JoshuaAbrahamAsburyMen's Tennis
SethHeinsAsburyMen's Tennis
Paul LiaoAsburyMen's Tennis
ShaneMustorAsburyMen's Tennis
AquilleTrotmanAsburyMen's Tennis
Keaton AkersIU EastMen's Tennis
AlexShelleyIU EastMen's Tennis
SethGardIU EastMen's Tennis
Colton ShipleyIU EastMen's Tennis
BrysonMillsIU SoutheastMen's Tennis
AustinCaldwellOhio ChristianMen's Tennis
Pedro JacintoOhio ChristianMen's Tennis